top of page

Family Pictures

Yesterday, I drove out to Zellwood Florida, to meet with my cousin, Nichole Smith. I haven't seen her in years, but we spent much of our childhood together. She gave me some wonderful old photos that belonged to my our grandmother, Rita Smith.

On the way home, I stopped by my mom and little sister's apartment to show them the photos. My mom remembered the stories behind most of them and Chloe, my little sister, also had a good laugh at the 80s fashion we were sporting in many of them.

Travas Caldwell

This one is of my little brother, Travas Caldwell. This picture appears to be taken at our grandmother's (Rita Smith's) little apartment at Stone Ridge on Texas Ave and Oak Ridge Road, here in Orlando. I remember the apartment well, it was sort of like an enhanced studio. The bedroom and living room had double pocket doors between them, so you had the option to leave it open to make the area appear enlarged and to receive natural light from the only window, a sliding glass door in the bedroom (pictured here), or you could close the doors to allow for privacy.

I'll be sharing the rest of the pictures and the stories along with them in several more posts. I am so thankful to Nichole for sharing these with me!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page