top of page

Civil War Letter from Philip Souder, Jr. to His Father, Philip Souder, Sr.: March 21, 1864


Another letter from Philip Souder, Jr., my 1st cousin 7x removed, to his parents (this time just his father, my 7th great-uncle) written during his time fighting in the Civil War. This letter was found on Ancestry.Com and originally shared by RBTATES.

The 11 Regiment of Virginia Cavalry Company C. Rossers Brigade Camped near Browns Burg, Rock Bridge County, March the 21, 1864.

I today take my pen in hand to inform you all that I am well at this present time and I hope when these few lines comes to hand they may find you and all enjoying the same blessing. I received your letter and was rejoiced to hear that you was all well as I have not heard from you since I left home. Dear father you wrote to me to come and still that the apples are all fit. I would like to do all for you that I could, but I can't come now as they will be no furloughs given. I will try and get a detail for a horse as soon as I can but they won't give more than 12 days time and I can't do you much good if I get home for I will have some 85 miles to come and it will take half of my time to go and come. It is thought we will move down the valley when we move again. If we do I will try and come home and do all for you I can. I want brother Josiah to fix my bridal bit for me as I have no bridal fit to use. I want you to curry Cit and have her to look fine till I come for my old mare is entirely broken down. I want you to save me some sugar and apples for I have a relish for them.

I would be glad if I could be at home to spend the Easter with you but we will try and have Easter in camp. We can by eggs at two dollars a dozen and pies the size of my hand for a dollar. I would like to know if you have hird ennybody to work for you. I would be glad if we could put out a crop, if you can get a hand to tend it for us. Dear father, I don't want you to expose yourself to hard labor. I want you to make yourself as comfortable as you can. If you can hire a good hand do so and I will pay him what is right. We orta try and raise some grain and feed to keep our stock. Jacob's girl wrote to me that my horse was improving but was lame yet. I don't want Basore to work him this summer. I want him to rest till he is well. I have nothing to write of enny importance at present, but I will send my love and best respects to you all. So no more, but remain your affectionate Son until death.

from Philip Sowder

to Mr. Philip Sowder

Doves Ville Rockingham County, Virginia

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page