top of page

We're Related?: Marilyn Monroe

The We're Related app from Ancestry.com believes that I may be related to Marilyn Monroe. It looks like Marilyn Monroe may be my 8th Cousin 2x Removed.

This is the path that We're Related took to determine that:

So, the path is on my mom's side of the family, who are the Smiths. It then goes through my grandpa's mom, then to his grandpa and up from there all the way back to 1627! I have confirmed on my family tree that all of these ancestors are related to me and the Greenes themselves do have a pretty interesting history in Colonial America, with several generations living in Rhode Island.

The ancestor we're relate through, Anne Agnes Almy, was born February 26, 1627 in South Kilworth, Leistershire, England and died in Warwick, Kent, Rhode Island on May 27, 1709. Anne's husband, John Greene, was Deputy Governor of Rhode Island from May 1690 to May 1700.

This the first time, so far, that I've been able to verify that I'm actually related to a famous person that We're Related has linked to me.

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page