top of page

Sunday's Obituary

Sunday's Obituary Post #1

Kind members of Your Genealogy Bricks Walls, a Facebook Group that I'm a member of found this obituary for me. This is the obituary for my 2x great-grandmother, Emma Theora Blevins. Emma married my 2x great-grandfather Robert Calvin DeBoard.

The obituary reads...

On March 7, 195, Emma T. DeBoard, wife of the late Robert Calvin DeBoard, devoted mother of Virginia Musser, Frances Quisenberry, James Charles DeBoard, Mrs. Calvin Wincholt.

Funeral services from The Wetzel Funeral Home, 549 Carlisle Street, Hanover, Pa. on Monday at 10 A.M. Family and friends may call on Sunday evening at the Wetzel Funeral Home 7 to 9 P.M. Interment St. David's Cemetery.

This obituary confirms:

  • Emma's death date.

  • Her husband's name.

  • Names of my 2x great aunts and uncles.

  • Her relation to my great-grandma.

  • Her place of burial.

  • Her burial date.

This obituary leaves me with a question. In her obituary, she has four children listed. I have her on my tree as having five children. I have an additional daughter, except I don't know which one is the addition, since the obituary just says "Mrs. Calvin Wincholt". Mabel or Eva DeBoard could both be Mrs. Calvin Wincholt, according to my research.

I did some research on Ancestry, it seems Mabel IS Frances. The U.S Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1937-2007, states that in December 1962 her name was listed as Mabel Frances D Quisenberry and on May 1, 2007 as Mabel F Quisenberry. This leads me to wonder was Mabel or Frances her first name?

The research continues... I'll be removing the extra Mabel/Frances from my tree. I've chosen Frances as the preferred name for now, since that is how it first appears on The U.S Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1937-2007

To learn more about Sunday's Obituary, please click here.

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page