top of page

Treasure Chest Thursday: Robert Calvin DeBoard

Treasure Chest Thursday #3

World War II Draft Registration Card, 1942

This is the World War II Draft Registration Card for my 2x great-grandfather, Robert Calvin DeBoard. I find Draft Registration Cards are often valuable resources in my research. Robert Calvin DeBoard, who seems to have preferred to go by Calvin, is new to my tree. Thus far, I've really only had his name and relations added to my tree. R. Calvin is an ancestor through my paternal grandmother.

From this Registration Card, I've learned his birthday is October 27, 1986, just one day after mine! I also found it interesting his residence is My Lady's Manor, Baltimore, Maryland. I've never heard of My Lady's Manor, it certainly has a unique name! I looked it up, and according to Wikipedia, My Lady's Manor is a historic district in Monkton, Baltimore. Monkton is a town that I've been seeing a lot lately in my research with my grandmother's side of the family. This card also confirms his place of birth as Grayson County, Virginia and that he was married to Emma Blevins DeBoard.

The next page of the card gives a little detail about R. Calvin's physical appearance. I learned that he was fairly tall, 6'1, had gray hair, blue eyes and light skin. He also had some interesting injuries; bone-clipped on middle finger? I'm not sure, what that means. Was he missing part of his finger? A coal scar?

I'll be updating my tree with the R. Calvin's birthday.

To learn more about Treasure Chest Thursday, please click here.

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page